top of page

Celebrating National Intern Day 2020

This year, we are celebrating National Intern Day by showcasing some amazing UNO students who have participated in an internship experience.


Paige, Digital Marketing Intern

Fat Brain Toys


Areas of Study: Marketing & Spanish


School Year: Senior


How did you find out about this experience?

I found out about my position through speaking with the Fat Brain Toys representatives at the Spring 2020 Career Fair.”


What is your favorite aspect of this experience?

My favorite aspect of this internship is getting to interact with real customers through responding to comments and questions in Fat Brain Toys’ inboxes on social media. I also get to share customers’ stories and personal experiences on Fat Brain Toys’ social media accounts, so it is sweet to get to see how children love our toys.”


Do you have any unique experiences in this position?

“A special experience in this internship is being able to be involved with Fat Brain Toys’ public relations and collaborations. I get to speak with possible influencers for our brand and coordinate sample shipments to them, so that is very unique!”



Camron, Corporate IT Intern

Valmont Industries


Areas of Study: Management Information Systems


School Year: Senior


What is your favorite aspect of this experience?

“[I really enjoy] the new technical knowledge and interesting projects.”



Do you have any unique experiences in this position?

“I get to work with Data protection Management systems, virtual machines, server monitoring, Power-shell, Python, and Javascript on the job.”


How will this experience prepare you for your future career path?

“I'm gaining professional experience and insight, seeing how the real world application of what I'm learning in college translates to on the job.”



Callie, Cats and Bears Intern

Omaha Henry Doorly Zoo and Aquarium


Areas of Study: Environmental Science & Biology


School Year: Senior


Why did you decide to pursue this internship?

“I decided to pursue this internship because I have always wanted to work with large cats and working hard to get into this department made me realize this is what I want to do for the rest of my life.”



What is your favorite aspect of this internship?

“[I really enjoy] learning about the different personalities in the animals and working with them to learn new behaviors.”


How will this experience prepare you for your future career path?

“In the zoo world, internships are pretty much required in order to get a full time job in a zoo. Working as an intern for a variety of different departments can help get a job in the future at many other zoos.”



Sami, Marketing Intern

Bluestem Energy Solutions


Areas of Study: English, Marketing, and Business


School Year: Senior


How did you find your position?

“[I found out about this internship on] Handshake.”


Why did you decide to pursue this internship?

“This internship is giving me the opportunity to flex my writing and marketing skills, as well as work in the increasingly important industry of renewable energy.”



How will this experience prepare you for your future career path?

“Bluestem is giving me an amazing opportunity to create initiatives, lead projects, and give the young company the branding and personality it needs. This experience is essential to my growth in professional spaces.”



Isaiah, Intern

Western Specialty Contractors


Areas of Study: Construction Management and Business Administration


School Year: Junior


How did you find out about this position?

“I went to the UNO Engineering career fair in the fall of my Sophomore year and gave my Resume to Western Specialty Contractors”



Why did you decide to pursue this internship?

“I decided to pursue this opportunity because I needed to get my feet wet in the construction industry. My previous jobs did not relate to the industry, and Western gave me the opportunity to see what the construction world is all about.”


How will this experience prepare you for your future career path?

“[This experience] will prepare me for my future career path by showing me different areas of the construction field. Since Western specializes in a certain area of the industry, it shows me how specialty contractors do their job. Bigger companies have reached out to us for work, so I have gained experience in communicating with General Contractors often. It has also shown me how project managers, superintendents, and branch managers work together to get jobs prepared and ready for our foreman and laborers to get jobs done effectively and please our customers, so that next time they need something done they can rely on us to get the job done the right way.”



Alec, Internal Audit Intern

First National Bank of Omaha


Areas of Study: Accounting, Finance, Real Estate, and Management


School Year: Graduate Student


How did you find out about this position?

“I was in the Accounting department at First National for almost a year. I had to leave for another internship, but my manager recommended me to the Audit department so I could come back for another internship with First National.”


What is your favorite aspect of this internship?

“There are a lot of great things about this internship, but I think the best part is the management team I get to work for. They were incredibly helpful in getting me back on with the company using a VDI and have done their absolute best in training me. They truly care about me and they ensure that I learn a lot in the short time I am able to be with them this summer.”


Does this internship have any unique projects?

“We get to compete in a nationwide intern innovation event. We essentially come up with businesses to satisfy the problem they give us. Last year, our team won the intern innovation event so I am hoping we can pull through again this year.”



Claire, Incoming Freshman

Areas of Study: Cybersecurity and Spanish


Crispin, Sophomore

Areas of Study: Electrical Engineering and Mathematics



Scott Scholars Design Studio Internship Program


How did you find out about this internship?

“I received an email from the director of student development of the Walter Scott, Jr. Scholarship Program (of which I am a recipient) providing information about the internship and urging incoming freshmen to apply. One of the biggest reasons I decided to apply was because I couldn’t wait to jump into college life. This also sounded like a very valuable opportunity to learn some helpful career skills and learn more about the program I would be entering in the fall.” - Claire


What is your favorite aspect of the program?

“My favorite part about this internship has been the opportunity to develop a real-world solution that will have a real impact in the future.” - Crispin

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page