top of page

Celebrating National Intern Day 2019

An internship experience is an awesome way to test the waters in a specific company or position to see if it is right for you. These students are currently interning this spring or summer.


Kelli, Business Development and Marketing Intern at TotalWellness

Areas of Study: Kinesiology


"This internship will give me the ability to network, learn every aspect of corporate wellness, and send me in the right direction to find a career in which I’ll be able to succeed. I have the freedom to be as creative as possible and have been given the opportunity to incorporate my own thoughts and ideas into every project."





Sidney, Operations Intern at Kiewit Midwest Aviation

Areas of Study: Aviation & Professional Flight


"My favorite part about my job is being able to meet all kinds of people including the executives, pilots, schedulers, and maintenance personnel. Although Kiewit is such a big company, it never seizes to amaze me the high quality of the employees that I have met. I admire the teamwork and work ethic that Midwest has shown me. This department is unlike anywhere I have worked; they lookout for each other and focus on the big picture."


Paige, Marketing Associate Intern at Hamilton

Areas of Study: Marketing, International Business & Spanish


"My internship will help me to be more comfortable taking on projects that require collaboration with other departments. Also, I am excited to complete more designing projects using Adobe Creative Suites, which I hadn’t previously thought I would enjoy. I got to help plan and carry out a customer appreciation event for 150 customers and I also got to present a new marketing and customer experience plan to senior management alongside another marketing associate."



Maddy, Event Intern at National Indemnity Company

Areas of Study: Graphic Design


"I want to eventually become an event planning graphic designer. I would love to be the promoter for a small concert venue, that also handles the design for all media, merchandise, and promotional material. My internship is teaching me the necessary leadership and organizational required to handle events. The small projects they allow me to design on the side have helped me gain experience with client work, too. "


Justin, Internal Wholesaling Intern at Pacific Life Insurance Company

Areas of Study: Banking, Financial Markets & Marketing


"[This internship] made me want to stick with this company, it reassured me that I went into the right industry. [A special experience during this internship was] interns presented for the managers on one of our mutual funds, and this summer the interns were taken to the Home Office in Newport Beach, CA."



Jordan, Pathways Program & Tribal Resilience Program Intern at Bureau of Indian Affairs

Areas of Study: Biology & Native American Studies


"Though I am a BIA Pathways intern, I have partnered with BIA Tribal Resilience liaisons to assist with their research throughout the summer. This includes compiling research literature for climate change effects on desert pronghorns, Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep, and manoomin (wild rice) of the Great Lakes region. The goal is to combine research data with Native American traditional ecological knowledge to better prepare tribal communities for climate change adaptation. As a Native student, this internship has felt life changing, and I am both humbled by and grateful for the opportunity to serve the Native community."


Maria, Intern at WELLCOM

Areas of Study: Communication


"Interns are able to visit partner organizations to network with them. I got to ask questions and network with the Director of Marketing Services and the Director of Communications at WoodmenLife."







Pamela, The Women's Archive Project Facebook Intern at UNO's English Department

Areas of Study: English Literature & Spanish


"[My favorite aspect of this internship was] learning day to day about what remarkable achievements the female alumni of UNO have done, learning about their history, and then sharing them with social media followers."







Alexis, Accounting Intern at First National Bank of Omaha

Areas of Study: Accounting


"This position is preparing me for my future career by giving me every day tasks to complete as well as projects. I am learning how the real world work environment will be after college. "





Callie, Cats & Bears Intern at Omaha Henry Doorly Zoo & Aquarium

Areas of Study: Environmental Science & Life Science


"I think that the whole internship experience is special because a very small amount of people in the world get to work with these animals every day like I do. I also work with the keepers as my mentors to learn about training and animal behavior in order to help my career in the long run. Working with this amazing animals is enough of a special experience for an internship!"



Sarah, Risk & Emergency Management Intern at Omaha Henry Doorly Zoo & Aquarium

Areas of Study: Emergency Management & Disaster Science


"My mother, grandmother, sister and I were attending an event at the zoo's IMAX theatre. Upon the ending of the event and walking to our car, we discussed the emergency implications of having an event after hours and what that would entail. With my previous degree in Criminology and Criminal Justice, I had been fascinated with counter-terrorism and how to combat that. Naturally, my brain goes in to emergency situations, preparing for the worst in certain situations and how to safely manage any incidents that could arise. I felt like the zoo was the most creative and interesting area to experience exactly what I was looking for in a furthering career in Emergency Management and Disaster Science. Furthermore, I wanted to pursue this internship because of the inspiration from the Omaha Zoo’s security director, John Packett. John and I spoke for two hours about schooling, career aspirations, and internship expectations. John asked me about my personal life and wanted to get to know me as a person, not just an intern for the zoo. John finished our meeting by taking out a pad of paper, pen, and asked how he could make this internship as beneficial as he could for my learning. That action solidified this internship for me because I knew right away that John would believe in me and my future."

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page